Of first ladies and bare arms…

May 18, 2009 § Leave a comment

All this talk of Michelle Obama made me want to look up some of her African counterparts. I did and there are many interesting African first ladies – I have a feeling I’ll be coming back to some of them in future blogs. Today I zeroed in on Jeanette Kagame. First, inspite of Rwanda’s proximity to my native Kenya, it is rare that you see their (or perhaps one of) national costumes worn out and about or in pictures. Mrs. Kagame wears them so well. I like the fabrics and the style and would definitely need more than a tie to keep that one shoulder up – but do you notice Mrs. O is not the only one that stays sleeveless?


Also, I’ve read some about her and she seems very involved with the community work that is so necessary in Rwanda. And, even though her appearance is modest, she’s tall and attractive too.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Of first ladies and bare arms… at COLORBASH.

meta

